My funny machine tags in flickr

aperture keywords

People (ok, two so far) comment on my “funny machine tags” in flickr, such as “a:a=years” or “a:a=countries”.

There is a good reason for them.

My photo management app, Aperture, allows hierarchical keyword groupings, so I can group cities under states and states under countries and then I add city-specific buildings or whatever under the cities, e.g. england > london > london eye. Benefit of this is that I can just drag the “london eye” keyword onto the photo, and the entire hierarchy is included (or maybe not “included” but if I search for London, then it’ll come up).

The hierarchy also reduces the size of my top-level list – rather than having every city in every country I’ve visited, I just have a list of countries, and drilling down gives me the relevant list of cities and then a list of relevant places. The list is not only shorter:organization is improved as well.

But I travel a lot, so even a list of countries gets long, so I created a ‘countries’ keyword which I used as the top level for any location-based tag (e.g. countries > england > manchester > urbis). To mark them as special, and also to have them sort at the top (the list is alphabetic), I initially prepended a ‘%’ to the name.

Keywords are now all set for Aperture. The problem is exporting to flickr. I use ConnectedFlows’s FlickrExport for Aperture, which will upload the entire hierarchy of the tags I’ve included. And that’s great – except that the grouping keywords are not very useful tags.

There is a feature to exclude keywords, but what wasn’t indicated was that it only excludes (via regular expression matches) some of your existing flickr keywords, not the ones from Aperture. Sidenote: the flickr tag list is useless as it displays (and includes) tags with punctuation and spaces removed.

I remembered that flickr had recently introduced a minor feature to hide machine tags, which are typically added by … machines, which are in the form of thing:name=value. Thus, if I formatted my grouper tags as “machine tags” they’d still go to flickr, but they’d be hidden from view. I used ‘a:a=’ as a prefix to my group name so they’d all sort on the top of the keyword list in Aperture.

easy, eh?

This entry was posted in aperture, apple, flickr. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

