MyPublisher Book review, sort of



unsightly ink blemish
Originally uploaded by mikefranklin.

I recently made a photo book with MyPublisher and was giddy with anticipation when it arrived. I’d read that they print the photo books for Apple, so I expected equal quality. I’d also looked forward to using their various printing features which were better than than Apple’s — smaller books, larger books, wider variety of covers, etc.

I was dismayed when I finally opened it, for two reasons. One was that there were “ink blemishes” (as customer support put it) on several of the photos. Second was the the quality was a bit better than the blurb book, but no where near the quality of the apple book.

Given that the books from Blurb and MyPublisher used the same jpegs, and ended up with the same not-so-good results, I figured that it might be my fault, somehow.

I inquired with Customer Support via email (“phone support is not offered”), and they provided a coupon to cover the cost of reprinting and shipping another copy of the book, which was impressively awesome.

They also recommended I recheck the DPI and size of the images – 180dpi and image files around the size of a jpeg from a 5 MP camera. More, they warned, would cause pixelation. Not clear to me why they couldn’t scale the image, but hey, I’m willing to try.

When I returned to my house in Vermont, another apple book was waiting for me – and it was stunning as expected – colors were smooth, contrast was sharp — it looked like I’d taken regular film prints and put them in an album.

I double-checked the output specs – turned out I had used 72 dpi (the default). oops. so I promptly changed that to 180 dpi, re-output the jpegs, and threw together a small softcover book ($10, rather than $30 for a large hardcover), and am now looking forward to receiving that in a week.

I may do the same for blurb. If they’re all using the same printing process, one might think the quality would actually be the same …

This entry was posted in apple, my publisher, photobook, review. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to MyPublisher Book review, sort of

  1. Henrik says:

    >I double-checked the output specs – turned out I had used 72 dpi (the default). oops. so I promptly changed that to 180 dpi, re-output the jpegs, and threw together a small softcover book ($10, rather than $30 for a large hardcover), and am now looking forward to receiving that in a week.

    To which printer/publisher did you send the small softcover book? Have a nice weekend Mike!

  2. Mike Franklin says:

    To be fair, I figured I’d best send books to each. I’ll post a summary at some point, but blurb has the best prices — 20-40 pages is the same price (rather than a fixed price for 20, then up to $1 per page additional), but not the best book sizes. MyPublisher has better book sizes and a wider variety of covers and colors.

    and Aperture is just easier to use, since it’s completely flexible and the photos can be edited inline… and exporting “just works”

Leave a Reply

